Urban-Industrial Collection


It’s been a little while since I have had the time to write – busy making lots of beads, attending events and designing a new collection!  Today I would like to talk about the inspiration for the latest collection.

I tend to take notice of the details of my surrounding environment and as some of you may know, I live on a building site a the moment – well, not literally of course but I am waiting for my new abode to be finished.  So, as you can imagine, there are lots of bricks, cement, construction paraphanalia etc.  In addition to that, I have been looking at walls and in particular, the colours of the weathered, lichen covered structures that surround us.  Have a look the next time you are out and about.  You will find lots of rich golds and yellows, greens and greys, dots of black, silver and white.

The above picture of a wall was taken in Margate and would seem pretty unremarkable but if you look closely, there are loads of colours there!  It is also quite interesting, as it has weathered and the bricks are actually concave and the concrete is raised (thanks for the picture Mark)!

 Lichen covered stones – reminiscent of a faded coral reef.  Couple these images with construction materials, industrial buildings and machinery, I came up with my latest collection – Urban – Industrial Elegance.

Image

Image

Image

Using various colours of glass, different techniques and lots of silver leaf and fine silver wire, I think I captured the essence of the bricks and lichen covered stones in this piece.  The varying sized beads are strung onto industrial strength stainless steel jewellery wire to complete the look.

The other pieces I am very pleased with, are made by glass blowing especially selected glass for their reactive properties, then shattering them and using the shards to wrap around beads for that constructed/riveted look!

Image

Image

As strange as this may sound but the result is a very crisp contemporary corporate feel piece of art jewelley!

Image

A bracelet using the same technique – complete with tiny black shiny ‘rivets’!  This piece, in addition to the constructed look, is very organic…I am thinking Borg meets lampwork!!!

Image

With the festive season just around the corner, I decided to use a similar style but using rich, sumptuous colours, which worked very well!

ImageImageImage

Image

The next piece in this collection is still a seed in my mind but as it grows, I will find the time to share it with you!    Happy holidays to everyone! Look after each other.  Life is short and precious. xxx

 

Leave a Reply

