They Like Me!


Starting your own business is hard.  Staring your own lampwork and jewellery business is very hard.  Not only do you have to be an expert in what you do but you have to have a good raport with people, have good photography skills (!) but you also need to be able to market your ‘brand’ and become expert in SEO and the changes and trends occurrings to the interweb!  I have found that I have to put at the very least, 2 hours every day into promoting, listing writing, researching, posting – basically sitting on my backside at the computer, dreaming of what I want to be doing, which is why I gave up my job as a scientist in the first place!!

Without having a shop, an online presence is an absolute requirement.  I also have my pieces scattered around in various galleries and other establishments but when there are no events on, it is difficult to showcase your work without the internet.  You have to build up a following, which happens quite slowly but then it can go ‘viral’ and your creations get exposed to a lot of people.  Anyway, I have been plugging away at the networking and SEO side of things and it would seem that they like me!  EtsyLush that is.  EtsyLush is, and I quote, “where we curate the best of handmade and vintage giving you the choice of only quality items.   We check Sellers to ensure that everything is 100% handmade and we do not allow re-sellers…. We are not affiliated with Etsy and no transactions take place here.   All the items you will find are created by just one person and makes your purchase that much more special”  So they like me and I can prove it!!

  All my hard work is paying off! 😉

And now for something completely different…

That’s all for today – already put in a couple of hours on the computer, surely it must be time to melt some glass!!  Take care 🙂

4 comments on “They Like Me!

  1. Congratulations! You make me want to go downstairs at 7am and hop on the torch. But work always gets in the way. Best of luck with your business! Love the variety.

  2. Ooh! Let me know when you have been melting – would love to see 🙂 I love to do lots of different things – been having loads of fun with sculptural and critters recently! That reminds me, I really should find time to blog about them!

Leave a Reply

