Time Really Is Relative!


I am sure you have all experienced differential time rates, depending on what you are doing but I am finding that the difference between a year ago and now is quite unnerving!  For instance, in my last job, each hour seemed to take a day and each day, a week.  Time literally crawled along.  I would sometimes go to bed at 9pm just to get rid of some of that time.  In complete contrast, now each week goes by in a blink!  I had an email from an old friend last week, telling me all the news from a company I used to work at and usually I am quite prompt at replies.  I hate tardiness in others as I am very ‘anal’ about my own timekeeping and timely responses, but I went to reply and 6, yes six days had gone past…sorry Phil. By way of apology, I just want to show you what I did in the intervening days when I should have been replying to your mail… A large order for a lovely independant jewellers in West Malling – bracelet, earrings and necklace sets X 3

…and then there was stock for my Etsy shop.  They say that when you find a job that you love, you never have to work again.  Well, that’s me now.  Don’t get me wrong, it isn’t the easy option, I work almost 24/7, with time off to do only essentials – mmm, thinking about it, all work and no play might make Jo a dull girl…oh well, so be it.  I don’t care because I am having so much fun!

I have been designing and making lots of new beads as I am going to need lots more stock – I have been offered a place at the Artisan Makers Market in Canterbury!  It is a juried event, so is difficult to get into – no commercially available imports and no ‘tat’ for want of a better word. I am excited and nervous at the same time – a friend of mine says that in her house, when you feel like that, they use the phrase ‘I could pee glitter’!  Well, I certainly could!  (am I allowed to say ‘pee’ on here – I hope so as ‘urinate’ sound so rude!).  So, here are a few bits I have been working on.

 

I had a few sculptural ones to make to replace sold items.

 

And I have found an hour or two to work on my stringer control – these are so much fun and relaxing to make!

And finally, a very pretty set for Pat, my favourite beading expert, who can be found instructing in the art of making jewellery with beads at Quex Craft Village in Birchington  – https://www.facebook.com/Patricias-beading-world  I am looking forward to seeing what she makes with them and I will post her results, along with some more of Pats work – no pressure then Pat 😉

Well then, at various times in my life – and yours I am betting, time has either sped up or slowed down, depending on activities and situations  – time really does fly when you are having fun!

2 comments on “Time Really Is Relative!

Leave a Reply

