Do Not Lick The Glass


January is a slow month.  That’s what they say allegedly, well I have a crick in my neck from sitting at the torch for weeks in a row!  Not that I’m complaining 🙂

I have had a lot of commissions recently, including a couple of technically challenging ones – but never one for following the rules or turning down an ‘opportunity to shine’ as they used to call a problem in my old job, I stepped up to the plate… What’s that saying?  Fools rush in!  Yup.  On that note, come into my studio and I’ll show you what I mean 🙂

018

First up is the challenge to make some flower murrini that looks like Anenome flowers, in pinks and purples.  Realistic looking flower murrini is built up with many layers of glass, so that by the time you have finished, you can have a lump of hot glass the size of a golf ball on the end of a mandrel!  If I’d had an extra hand or two, I would have taken a picture – by the way, if there is anyone out there that fancies taking pictures of me working, then pop in and say hello as I am in the process of writing a tutorial and need images!  🙂

Back to the business in hand.  I was quite happy with the result and since then have been designing more flower murrini!

005 001 013 041 015

Next up was a Goddess.  It’s the year of the snake!  So what’s so challenging about this?  Well, these Goddesses are around 7cms tall and the risk of thermal shock, when adding the snake, is quite high!  The first one has a couple of CZ’z strategically placed.  The second is a more tribal design.

017 011

After the statuesque Snake Queens, I was asked about smaller pregnant Goddesses and guess what?  I ended up on a roll and made a few 😉

020 021 026 004

There were a couple more but they sold before I could get pictures.  I like making big beads so it was inevitable that I would make the next one!

013

I have a commission that is in the planning process at the moment but is includes lots of sparkle, so I have been playing with cubic zirconia.  Now there is a limit to the size you can use in molten glass due to the risk of thermal shock but as usual, I have been testing those limits and pushing the boundaries!  A couple of test experiments below 😉  I love the second one – I haven’t set it yet as I have more in the kiln!

022 034

After all that work, it was only fair to have a bit of play time, so a little boro sculptural tree, inspired by the snow and a few rings – I love rings 🙂

009005 009 035 037

According to a friend, this cabochon looks like an Arctic frozen ocean and this is it set into a ring 🙂

010027

And now for something completely different!  I was having a tidy up, like you do and I found a bag of material that I have been hoarding for years.  Really lovely bits of silk and damask and stuff, so I decided I would do something with them.  Textile toadstools is what I came up with and here are a couple I made.  They are all hand-stitched, using couture dressmaking techniques.  John, our local wood turner at the Craft Village has made me some stands for them!  I am in the process of writing a workshop for making them.  To be held at Quex Craft Village – date to be announced 🙂

003 005

Anyway, so it’s goodnight from me and goodnight from him 😉  A new owl clock from Mr Hatswell at Baroque Designs

022

Thank you for popping by and I hope you enjoyed browsing my creations.  And remember, nothing lasts forever, so live it up, drink it down, laugh it off, avoid the drama, take chances and never have regrets because at one point, everything you did was exactly what you wanted.

Take good care of yourself.  See you again soon 🙂  Nanoo, nanoo 😉

2 comments on “Do Not Lick The Glass

    • Not at all Lin, CZ’s are likely to cause stress in the glass, so it’s quite the opposite! The CZ’s on the Snake Goddess were placed cold (glued in) but the ones on the cab and other test bead are an intergral part of the bead – the challenge is to place the CZ in the bead at the right depth to prevent stress and test the size I can get away with – usually 1.8mm is considered the limit, but I’m not accepting that 😉

Leave a Reply

