Day with the Master!


Hello!  I wanted to tell you about my day with Italian glass master Lucio Bubacco.  He creates the most awe inspiring glass sculptural pieces and the most amazing thing as far as I’m concerned, is that he creates them from soft glass!  Soft glass has a habit of cracking due to thermal shock when worked in larger volumes, due to differential cooling throughout the piece and especially if you accidentally put it back in the flame.  I know this from experience 😉  It’s a bit disheartening to see your ‘masterpiece’ in little (hot) bits all over your work bench!

2013-04-07 09.57.10

The piece above was made by Lucio at Flame Off.  I didn’t see this one being made but I did see it being dismantled in the flame – I swear I held my breath the whole time, waiting for it to explode!  The man is truly a genius!

I had decided to take the class as I do a fair amount of sculptural work and want to take it to the next level – bigger and more off-mandrel pieces.  I tried working it out for myself but ended up producing lots of pretty tiny bits of exploded glass!  My day began with nervous anticipation – I have never had any tuition for flame-working and I am usually the one teaching.  Notebook in hand, I claimed my work station and donned my diddy’s (didymium safety glasses).

2013-04-07 10.00.54 2013-04-07 11.14.53

I needn’t have bothered with the notebook  – it was probably the most fascinating day I have ever spent – I couldn’t drag my eyes away from the beautiful creations that emerged from the glass – expertly ‘extracted’, fast, fluid movements, a true Master.

I had watched him demonstrate the day before but from a distance – even then I was enthralled and was on the edge of my seat, as were the other members of the audience!  We were all ‘oohing and aahing’ in unison, gasping in awe and shaking our heads at the artistry…

2013-04-07 09.57.14

The mermaid was stunning and the creation of the watery serpents were jaw dropping in their creation – a ribbon of hot glass twisted and turned with precision and skill – joyous poetry!

We didn’t do much in the way of making ourselves – I made a weird beetle thing and a male torso but I just wanted to watch the techniques and the sheer marvel that was Lucio’s style.

2013-04-07 11.22.53 2013-04-07 11.41.07 2013-04-07 11.01.11 2013-04-07 10.39.46 2013-04-07 10.22.22 2013-04-07 14.23.04 2013-04-07 14.25.43 2013-04-07 14.39.41 2013-04-07 15.17.50

The final piece he made was a little naughty but perfect in her brilliance!  I have so much to aspire to!

2013-04-07 15.52.22 2013-04-07 16.11.22 2013-04-07 16.11.36 2013-04-07 16.11.48

A day is not enough to truly learn and a dream come true for me, would be to spend a couple of weeks studying with Lucio.

I’m not going t spoil this blog by putting pictures of my own efforts on here but will show you some of the insects I have been making at a later date!

So, I hope you enjoyed your glimpse of my day and the wonderful work of Lucio.  That just leaves me to say take care of each other, forgive each other as none of us is perfect.  I want to leave you with these words – I don’t know who wrote them but they struck a chord with me…

Love never dies a natural death. It dies because we don’t know how to replenish it’s source. It dies of blindness and errors and betrayals. It dies of illness and wounds; it dies of weariness, of witherings, of tarnishings.

 

— Love knows not its own depth until the hour of separation.

2 comments on “Day with the Master!

  1. I’m so pleased you had such a lovely, inspiring day. I know you had been looking forward to it for ages. I think when you teach, it’s good to take a step back and take time to learn something new yourself. It always gives me renewed enthusiasm. If you found his work difficult then there’s really no hope for the rest of us.
    I have been thinking of you but haven’t been able to get over. The boys have been ill, Sarah has been ill so I’ve been staying with her to help out. I had birthday presents to make for today and tomorrow so I have been sewing every minute I can get.
    We were at a funeral yesterday and on the way home we had a call to say my Dad was in hospital so we raced back to see him.
    I am off to a friends birthday lunch today and thursday and friday I intend to do absolutely nothing! I feel as if I need to catch up with myself.
    I will be over to see you soon and would love to see the insects you have been working on.
    Enjoy this lovely sunny day, Christine 🙂

Leave a Reply

