Maybe Not Warts And All – 2013


I’ve been sitting here thinking about the year gone past.  Lots of quite big things have happened – some good, others not so good.  I’m wondering how much I should share…how vulnerable it would make me to divulge some of the emotional ups and downs that accompanied the events.  After all, this was supposed to be a blog about my journey with glass but on the odd occassion, like the time I wrote about my Grandmother, I find it difficult to separate.  I also needed to consider how much detail I could include as invariably, the highs and lows are intertwined with other people…I have tried to keep things neutral as a result but hopefully there are some ‘take-home messages’ that I have learned!

So, how to organise it!  Chronologically, it’s all a jumble, so I shall just blurt it all out 😀

I moved into my lovely new flat!  I had been waiting for it to be finished for quite a while, so to be able to have our own space again was, and is wonderful!  We can walk about the place in our pants – or not, as the mood takes us!  Oh the freedom 😉

2013-08-21 16.21.49 2013-11-17 17.45.20

This was a year when I learned a lot about myself…and other people.  I, like most of us, consider myself a fairly good judge of character and always give people the benefit of the doubt.  I learned in the harshest possible way that actions, or lack of, really do speak louder than words and that I have to trust more in my inner voice, despite not wanting to sometimes.  I have always tried to give second chances, after all, we all mess up from time to time but there has to be a limit and we have to trust our gut feelings much more!  I have met some really unpleasant characters – individuals that are no stranger to lies and are quite happy, joyful in fact, in the telling – these people seem able to project a much different face than the true one .  One of them – not one of the worst ones – was the coach driver who almost squished me and my car, who blatantly lied about the circumstances!  Maybe I’ve led a sheltered life, as I am still shocked when things like this happen.  Thankfully there wasn’t much damage and I was just shook up!  Experiences such as that serve to remind us how fragile life is and how vigilant we need to be in our fast paced world as things can happen in the blink of an eye!  I have learned to forgive…

2013-09-19 16.23.312013-10-25 10.58.46

The second picture is me being silly on a shopping trip…it’s just there to fill the space 😉

One of the worst injustices was with a government agency, who wouldn’t accept the evidence they asked for and who caused serious hardship – what made it worse was that the MP who I asked to help me was as helpful as a chocolate teapot! 😉  I have chosen not to forgive on this occasion!

I had an amazing day with glass Master Lucio Bubaco, who was a real inspiration – I would love to study with him!

2013-04-07 09.57.14 2013-04-07 15.52.22

I have also met lots of wonderful, open, wise and joyful people this year.  In the studio I have met many kindred spirits, who have become my friends.  At the Goddess conference there were literally hundreds of amazing people – friendly, generous, helpful and accepting.  I know I shall see many of these lovely people again and the very fact that folk like these exist, gives me great hope for the future!

2013-08-04 10.12.282013-08-04 10.15.58 004

2013-10-31 20.07.46 2013-09-06 21.43.23

I’ve had lots of visitors to my new home – not all scary I might add!  And met up with old friends from Uni days – prompted by a visit to the UK by Melissa and Emile, over from Australia!  It was fantastic to see them and we should all make more effort to keep up with friends – it’s just not the same saying hello on FB as it is sitting round a table, sharing stories and wine 😀

We have a new addition to our family 🙂  Her name is Beau Bear (as in Polar) Monroe (as in Marylin) but because she was too small to wash her own behind when we got her, has earned the nickname of Poo Head!  For a few weeks we had to chase her around with wipes to wash her dirty bum!

2013-11-05 17.41.20 2013-11-04 21.53.42

It’s definitely been a year of good and bad – I have been unwell to top it all.  After having not visited a Dr for many years, I now have my own reserved seat – hopefully all will be sorted out in time…

And finally, I moved into my new studio, that already has a whole blog to itself!

2013-12-14 17.01.19 2013-12-14 17.01.10

I hope you have all had a good year – if it hasn’t been so good, my commiserations go to you, along with a big hug. When things don’t seem to be going well, it’s easy to colour everything in a negative shroud – so next year, I plan to get a big jar and every time something nice happens, even the tinniest thing – such as getting stuck at the traffic lights but seeing the most beautiful rainbow ever, I shall write it on a scrap of paper and pop it in that jar!  Then I shall really be able to count my blessings!

I’ll leave you with a few glassy pictures – ah, you knew I would, didn’t you 😉

2013-12-11 15.21.47 2013-12-12 11.28.31 2013-12-13 11.24.33 2013-12-14 11.07.56

The new Goddesses are from a range I call ‘Quaintrelles’.  A Quaintrelle is a woman who ’emphasises a life of passion expressed through personal style, leisurely pastimes, charm and cultivation of life’s pleasures’.  Sounds very much like me don’t you think! 😉

This is my last post before year end.  I know we have a few weeks to go yet and anything could happen (please make it nice things)! I’ll need something to start the new year off, so if anything happens between now and then, I’ll save it 😉

My very best wishes to you all, whatever you plan to celebrate.  My wish list includes peace on earth – please Universe!  Embrace each other’s differences, don’t hold back, live in the now – be true to yourself, honest to others…see you all next year! 😀

Leave a Reply

